Use free websites to find federal law.
Last Updated: May 10, 2016
United States Code Service
Call Number: U.S. CODE
"All Federal laws of general and permanent nature arranged in accordance with the section numbering of the United States code and the supplements thereto." Constitution with annotations is in the first ten volumes.
United States Code Annotated
Call Number: U.S. CODE
Comprises all laws of a general and permanent nature under arrangement of the official Code of laws of the United States, with annotations from Federal and State courts. Constitution with annotations is found in the first 28 volumes.
United States Code (official version)
Call Number: U.S. CODE
Publication Date: 2012 ed.
Kept up to date by supplements. Location- Law Govt Doc Reference. Older editions are in Law Storage.
United States Statutes at Large (official version)
Call Number: Law Govt Doc 3d fl GS 4.111:
Publication Date: Vol. 1, 1789-current
Containing the laws and concurrent resolutions and reorganization plan, amendment to the Constitution, and proclamations.
The United States Code  is law that was created by the legislative branch of the government. The Code is divided into 51 broad subject areas. You can search by topic, by a code section number (if known) or by simply clicking on the table of contents. It is an unannotated code with just the text of the statutes.
The printed version issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office is the official version and is recognized under law as evidence of the laws of the United States. Source.
- Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (FDsys)
Coverage begins with the 1992 edition through the current supplement. This version includes analysis of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States. Also via GovInfo
, which will replace FdSys in 2017.
- United States: The Constitution (Library of Congress)
View the Constitution in its original form and with explanations. This page includes links to articles interpreting the Constitution and explanations of Constitutional issues.
- The Constitution- American Bar Association
You can either click and display the articles and amendments one at a time or download a PDF copy of the entire Constitution.
- Constitution Annotated (Congress.gov)
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (popularly known as the Constitution Annotated) contains legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law. This regularly updated resource is especially useful when researching the constitutional implications of a specific issue or topic. Also available in mobile app.
- United States Constitution
Guide provided by the Library of Congress. Includes texts, commentaries, historical texts and judicial decisions
- CRS Annotated Constitution (LII- Cornell)
The content of the CRS Annotated Constitution was prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) at the Library of Congress, and published electronically in plaintext and PDF by the Government Printing Office. This edition is a hypertext interpretation of the CRS text. It links to Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Code, and the Code of Federal Regulations, as well as enhancing navigation through linked footnotes and tables of contents.
- Exploring Constitutional Law, by Douglas O. Linder (UMKC)
"This site explores some of the great issues and controversies that surround our Nation's founding document."
- Pocket Size U.S. Constitution - Free
Available for iPhone and iPod (not free).
||Search for pending legislation, bill analysis and many related materials on these legislature web sites.
- Watch HouseLive
The U.S. House of Representatives offers streaming video feeds of the House Floor Proceedings dating back to the beginning of the 111th Congress. Click Video to watch each session, or click Summary to view the text-only version of the proceedings.
- Senate Floor Webcast
Stream live Senate floor proceedings while a meeting is in progress. Search, watch, and download previous proceedings starting with the 2nd session of the 112th Congress.
- Congressional Chronicle on C-SPAN
Internet access to sessions of the House and the Senate.
- Thomas RSS
You can subscribe to regular updates from Thomas by RSS and e-mail. Get updates on bills presented to the President, House and Senate floor activity and daily digest of Congressional committee information.
See Bluebook Rule 18.2.1(a)(i) for information on authenticated documents.
- Authentication of government digital documents
Instructions on how to validate the certificate on the electronic document.
Examples of files that have been changed or signed, but not certified.
- Authenticity of Electronic Federal Government Publications (PDF)
Description of the government program including chain of custody information.
- Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act (UELMA)
The Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act (UELMA) provides states with an outcomes-based approach to the authentication and preservation of electronic legal material. The goals of the authentication and preservation program outlined in the Act are to enable end-users to verify the trustworthiness of the legal material they are using and to provide a framework for states to preserve legal material in perpetuity in a manner that allows for permanent access.
The Act requires that official electronic legal material be:
1. Authenticated, by providing a method to determine that it is unaltered;
2. Preserved, either in electronic or print form; and
3. Accessible, for use by the public on a permanent basis.
- What is FDsys?
Video explaining the Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System.
- How to use FDsys
Video explores the different ways to navigate and reach content within the database.
GovInfo will replace Fdsys in 2017. It is currently in beta. It contains the United States Code, Public and Private Laws, Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations , Federal Register, Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings and Reports, Bills and Court Opinions. GovInfo works better on mobile devices.