This is the "Legal Research" page of the "Mobile Apps for Law Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mobile Apps for Law Students   Tags: android, ebooks, ipad, iphone, law students, legal research, mobile apps  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Legal Research Print Page


View this library guide on any mobile device!  This web page will be optimized for your mobile device.

 There are more law related apps available than what is listed below.  These apps are meant for law professionals or law students. 

These apps are available for two or more devices, including Apple, Android, and Windows devices. 

Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding different versions so check those sites often.     


Click on the link appropriate to your device in the DESCRIPTION column to download or connect to the site. 

Link Cost Description

The Law Guide Dictionary

Law Dictionary with ~7,500 legal definitions.  Contains no embedded advertising. Full text of the U.S. Constitution and important legal docs.  The Law Website


Google Play

Must have Bloomberg account to use.

Bloomberg Law App

The Bloomberg Law app delivers the news and analysis you need to stay on top of the developments impacting your work – no matter where you are. Get timely, personalized updates from trusted Bloomberg BNA and Bloomberg News sources and track business opportunities for existing and prospective clients. 


Google Play.

Free to Ohio State Bar Members.


Log into Casemaker using your Ohio State Bar username and password.  After you login, click the Mobile Application link on the left side of the screen.  You must follow the onscreen instructions, including filling out the online form, to receive your reference code for Casemaker Mobile.  The code number will display on the browser screen and you will receive and email with the number.  You need this reference code number to login on the mobile app so save it.  Next, download the app from either the iTunes store or from Google Play.  Login with your email address and your new reference code number.

Free- cases & statutes

Subscription for everything else.

Fastcase’s libraries include primary law from all 50 states, as well as deep federal coverage going back to to the first volumes. The Fastcase collection includes cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.  Fastcase’s libraries are searchable by keyword (or “Boolean” search), natural language search, or citation lookup.  Must register to use. A few states, like Ohio, are not included due to copyright restrictions.  Fastcase website.


Google Play




ISCOTUSnow provides free, up-to-date information and media about the cases currently before the Supreme Court of the United Statesand those cases decided in the preceding term.  ISCOTUSnow offers easy-to-grasp abstracts for every case granted review, timely updates with immediate access to oral argument audio, timely access to the court's opinions, transcripts aligned with audio for immediate playback, and the ability to create and share audio clips for repurposing in other documents, email, and social media.  Available for all iOS and Android platforms.


Google Play


PocketJustice (from OYEZ, Inc.)

Over 650 abstracts, voting data, and audio-transcripts for cases decided from Oct. 1955 to current. By   PocketJustice website.


Google Play

Must have a Westlaw account to use.

WestlawNext Mobile Website

Nothing to download. Device detection automatically launches mobile version.


Free to download. 

Must have a Westlaw
account to use.

 WestlawNext Mobile App

All the same WestlawNext features, customized for the iPad.  Run searches with WestSearch and filter the results; add notes and highlighting to documents; access research history, favorites, and frequently used content; browse content, and organize folders . 


Google Play

Must have a Lexis account to use.

Lexis Advance Mobile Website

Nothing to download.  Device detection automatically launches the mobile version.

Lexis Advance

$ 2.99

Subscription to PACER needed.

Federal Courts App

With access to PACER, the federal rules of civil, criminal, bankruptcy, and appellate procedure, federal rules of evidence, local rules for every federal court in the country, and more, the Federal Courts app is a must have for all practitioners. 


Google Play


These apps are exclusively for Apple/iOS devices like the iPad and iPhone and are available through iTunes.

Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding Apple versions so check those sites often.     


Click on the icon in the LINK column to download or connect to the site. 

Link  Cost Description



Black's Law Dictionary

The 9th Edition is the most comprehensive law dictionary ever published. It contains more than 45,000 terms, alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms, and West key numbers.  iTunes

Must have a Lexis account to use.

Lexis Advance Apps

Apps for iPhone and iPad.


CALI's eLangdell® Press offers free legal casebooks, supplements, and chapters. eLangdell content has a nonrestrictive license that allows for free digital and e-book downloads, cheap printing, and easy editing.  The books come in .epub format, which is compatible with iPads, Nooks, and Android devices.  This collection also includes federal rules.


Constitution of the United States with audio, from West.


 The US Constitution + 49 other famous US Documents for your iPhone, iPad, and iPod. Now you can read all of the famous Documents in American History. By Apptures.


LawLibe is a free app that comes preloaded with the U.S. Constitution. Then you can download additional legal content directly into the app, including the U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations,  some State Statutes, the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, and more!  Ohio Revised Code is not yet available.  The additional content costs $.99 each.


LawStack comes preloaded with the following: US Constitution, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. website.



Take the Federal Register with you wherever you go! With the OpenRegs app for the iPhone and iPod Touch you can find recently issued notices of final and proposed rulemaking. Browse by agency or comment periods closing soon or recently opened. You can mark individual regulations with a star and then easily view a list of all your starred regs. Regulations can also be emailed to a friend or to yourself for later reference.


Real Time Congress

Have key updates, schedules, and key policy documents delivered to your iPhone the moment they are released by Congress and the White House.


U.S. Code  (By Shawn Bayern)

The entire United States Code, loaded onto your iPhone or iPod Touch so that you can access all federal statutes without using the internet.  Search, browse, or use legal citations to find the sections you're looking for. Keep bookmarks, scroll through each chapter of the code as if it's a book, and email code sections to yourself or others.


U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation (By Library of Congress)

The U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation app is a mobile version of the "Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation", a comprehensive analytical legal treatise prepared by attorneys of the Congressional Research Service at the direction of the United States Senate.


Constitution for iPhone & iPod Touch

Constitution for iPad

Includes biographical information for the signers of the original document.


These apps are exclusively for Android devices and are found in the Google Play Store.

Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding android versions so check those sites often.     


Click on the icon in the LINK column to download or connect to the site. 

Link Cost Description


It comes pre loaded with Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule of Evidence, Appellate Procedure, Criminal Procedure, and Bankruptcy Procedure. State codes and other legal add-ons are available for purchase. Ohio Revised Code available for $9.99.



Ohio Revised Code

Ohio Revised Code for Android is the statutory law of the state of Ohio for Android phones. It consists of all 34 Titles of the law that have been codified into the code.


US Patent, Copyright, & Trademark Laws

US Patent, Copyright, and Trademark Laws Study Guide. Navigate from Table of Contents or search for words or phrases. FREE US Copyright Law chapter and Glossary in the trial version.

These apps are exclusively for Windows devices and are found in the Microsoft Store.

Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding Windows versions so check those sites often.     


Click on the icon in the LINK column to download or connect to the site. 

Link Cost Description

LAW Dictionary PRO

More than 14000entries

Easy to use interface

Auto complete Full text search.


Law Dictionary

Law Dictionary can be used as a trusted source of legal definitions and terms taken from various sources. The primary purpose of this app is to assist budding lawyers in interpreting the various terms used in the subject of law. Law Dictionary has a very minimalistic design and aims at quick offline,on the go usage without any hassles.



United States Constitution, Bill or Rights and Declaration of Independence in an indexed and easy to read format. Have these important historical documents at your fingertips.



Read the constitution of the United States of America. View historical documents in ultra-high quality.

The University of Akron School of Law Library

Law Library Hours

Contact Info:

Phone: 330-972-7330



Loading  Loading...