More information:
- How a bill becomes lawSimple chart of the state's legislative process.
- Guidebook for Ohio LegislatorsThe Guidebook summarizes the Ohio lawmaking process and provides other information about state government that should be of interest to legislators. Although the Guidebook is intended for use as a reference by members and staff of the General Assembly, it also may be useful to others interested in Ohio’s legislative procedures.
- House and Senate Journals
- Ohio General Assembly
- Ohio Senate
- Ohio House of Representatives
- Ohio Legislative GlossaryDefinitions of terms concerning legislation.
- Ohio Legislative Service Commission
- Tools for Understanding a Bill
Books
Call Number: KFO 75.H357 2009
ISBN: 9781594604010
Law Reserve
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated
Call Number: Ohio Code
Kept up to date by pocket parts and Baldwin's Ohio legislative service.
Page's Ohio Revised Code
Call Number: Law 2d floor OHIO CODE
Kept up to date by pocket parts, replacement vols., bulletins and a loose-leaf binder for current material.
Acts of the State of Ohio
Call Number: Law 3rd floor OHIO SESSION LAWS
Session laws beginning with vol. 1, 1803.
Ohio Revised Code
|
The Ohio Revised Code is law that was created by the legislative branch of the government. Our state government provides us with free access to the online version of the Ohio Revised Code. You can search by topic, by a code section number (if known) or by simply clicking on the table of contents. It is an unannotated code with just the text of the statutes. |
- Ohio Revised Code
- Rules of Construction- General ProvisionsAs found in the Ohio Revised Code Chapter 1. Includes definitions of words used in the code.
- More on Canons of Statutory Construction
Ohio Constitution
![]() |
The complete text of the 1851 version of the Ohio Constitution with current amendments is available at the links below. |
- Ohio ConstitutionFrom the General Assembly web site.
- Constitution of the State of OhioFrom the Secretary of State web site.
- Some Suggestions on How to Approach the Ohio Constitution
- Constitution of the State of Ohio--1802Historical copy available on the Ohio Historical Society site.
- Constitution of the State of Ohio--1851Historical copy available on the Ohio Historical Society site.
- Ohio Fundamental Documents- searchable databaseProvided by the Ohio Historical Society.
Ohio Legislation
Search for pending legislation, bill analysis and many related materials at the state legislature web site.
- Description of legislative documents.
- Search current legislation.
- Search for all legislation here.
- Ohio Session LawsThese bills have been passed by both the Ohio House and the Ohio Senate.
Live Video Stream
The Ohio Channel - coverage of Ohio's official, state government events and local programming.
Coverage of Statehouse activities is unedited and is commentary-free to give you an unbiased and open perspective on government activities. The Ohio House and Senate as well as the Ohio Supreme Court are covered gavel to gavel, in addition news conferences and meetings are broadcast across the state.
Uniform Laws
- Complete Acts from the Uniform Law CommissionThe Uniform Law Commission provides states with non-partisan, well conceived, and well drafted legislation that brings clarity and stability to critical areas of state statutory law. Includes copies of the UCC, Probate Code, and many other model acts.
- Uniform Laws (LII - Cornell)
- More about uniform laws
- More about Model Acts
- More about Model Laws
Subject Guide |
Lynn Lenart Contact Info Assistant Law Librarian for Reference Services The University of Akron School of Law Library llenart@uakron.edu 330-972-6357 Law Library, second floor, office 269 Send Email |
Further Information
- Law Library Hours
- Phone – (330) 972-7330
UA Library Catalog
Authentication
- State Online Legal InformationAALL and chapter volunteers researched primary legal materials in their states to determine if online legal materials are trustworthy and preserved for permanent public access.
- Ohio Online Legal Information
- Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act (UELMA)The Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act (UELMA) provides states with an outcomes-based approach to the authentication and preservation of electronic legal material. The goals of the authentication and preservation program outlined in the Act are to enable end-users to verify the trustworthiness of the legal material they are using and to provide a framework for states to preserve legal material in perpetuity in a manner that allows for permanent access.
The Act requires that official electronic legal material be:
1. Authenticated, by providing a method to determine that it is unaltered;
2. Preserved, either in electronic or print form; and
3. Accessible, for use by the public on a permanent basis. - Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act- Bill Tracking ChartTraces the progress of the Act across state legislatures.



Loading...
