This is the "Preemption Check" page of the "Preemption Checking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Preemption Checking   Tags: preemption, preemption checking  

Checklist for conducting a preemption check.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2012 URL: http://law.uakron.libguides.com/preemption Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Preemption Check Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

What is a preemption check?

“A publishable article must not pose questions the profession has already answered, and answered in the same way.  A preemption check is conducted to determine whether there is a new law or a prior publication that renders an article moot.”*   Your treatment of the topic must be original. 

Your issue can be preempted in two ways:

 Preemption by law means that new case law, statutory or regulator law has made your topic moot.   An in-depth and complete search in the case law, legislative, codes and regulations databases is a must to make sure your issue is not already addressed by law.

Preemption by author means that someone has already addressed the topic.  A thorough search must be conducted to determine if any publications or articles have already been written addressing your same issue using your same reasoning.  We are focusing on specific arguments and claims, not just a broad treatment of a topic. 

* Elizabeth Fajans & Mary R. Falk, Scholarly Writing for Law Students 154 (Thomson/West 2005).

 

Preemption Arrow

No Support 
Topic not ripe                             

Good Support    

                                                                                              

Preempted
Moot topic                    

 

Words of Warning

·  Conduct a preemption check before spending time and energy writing and researching your topic. 


·  The full text databases on Lexis and Westlaw are not necessarily full text!  Some law reviews and legal journals are not on Westlaw & Lexis.  Others are listed in the databases but not every article from every issue is included. 


·  Extend your search beyond Westlaw and LexisNexis.  Use a variety of databases and a variety of search techniques.


·    Keep doing your preemption check weekly.  Set up alerts to run weekly in Westlaw, Lexis, Google Scholar and other databases that provide the alert feature.


·  Keep yourself organized as you work through the databases.  Lexis and Westlaw have research trails but many other databases do not have this feature.  List all search queries you run in each database and record citations for those publications addressing your topic. 

 

Databases to Check

Created by:

Lynn Lenart
Contact Info
Assistant Law Librarian for Reference Services
The University of Akron School of Law Library
llenart@uakron.edu
330-972-6357
Law Library, second floor, office 269
Send Email

Further Information

 

CALI

Cover Art
The Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction
Preemption Checking
Preemption Checking determines if an idea for a journal note or paper is original. This lesson explains the sources and process of conducting a pre-emption check.

Lesson Completion Time: 30 minutes

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip