Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About the Library: Policies

Hours, staff directory and more information about the library.

Acceptable Behavior Policy

Patrons are expected to follow the University of Akron Libraries' Acceptable Behavior Policy.

How long can a book be checked out?

 

Loan
Period

Renewal
Limits

Overdue
Fines

Circulating books - students  28 days 2 renewals $.25 per day
Circulating books - faculty  6 months 2 renewals $.25 per day
OhioLINK books
for students 
21 days 6 renewals $.50 per day
OhioLINK books
for faculty 
42 days 6 renewals $.50 per day
OASP materials   3 days no renewals $1.00 per day
Casebooks - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE 4 hours no renewals $.50/hour
Law Laptops - CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE 

24 hours 

or 1 week

no renewals $10.00/hr

 

During Reading Period and Exam Period circulation periods for OASP materials and other study aids are 1 day.  Fines during these periods will by $5.00 per day per item.

For OhioLINK materials, if a patron at the lending institution requests the book that you have checked-out, you will not be able to renew it.

For more detailed information about circulation, renewals and overdue fines, please ask at the Circulation Desk.

Book Quarantine

Book wearing a maskQuarantine for Library Materials

 

The library advises users not to disinfect materials by spraying or wiping them with cleaning solutions or through any other means. We recommend simply quarantining the items for 72 hours. For additional information about library materials and COVID-19 transmission, review the findings of the REALM Project to Produce Science-Based Information to Help Mitigate Exposure to Virus. Materials that are returned to the law library will be quarantined for three days before they are available for use.

Other Policies

See the Law Library Home page for information on other policies, such as:

  • Borrowing materials - loan periods and fines
  • Borrowing laptops
  • Photocopying and printing
  • Interlibrary loan

Study Room Policy

  1. One study room check out per day (3 hours)
    1. If you do not use the entire 3 hours you cannot come back later that day to use your remaining hours.  
  2. You can reserve a room 1 day in advance.
  3. Rooms are held for 10 minutes only, if you are later than 10 minutes you forfeit your reservation.
  4. Please have your zip card to check out study room.

Only law students, faculty, and staff may check out study rooms.

Special Coronavirus Rules (Fall 2020/Spring 2021):

  • New study rooms available: 324 (conference room), 328a (visitor office), 330, 331,333 and 334.
  • Most study rooms are limited to 2 people, except room 324 may have 4 people, and some of the former faculty offices are limited to one person.
  • Students must wipe down study rooms when they are done.
  • No food or drink is allowed in the library or study rooms EXCEPT drink bottles with screw top lids.
  • On Saturdays, study rooms will be first come, first served.

Contact Us