Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Study Aids for First Year Courses: Home

Study Aids for First Year Courses

Look at the tabs of this guide for study aids (print and online) pertaining to a certain course.  This home page contains information about:

Ebook and online MP3 Study Aids:

Akron Law Past Exams Online

CALI - Online interactive lessons

Lexis Courtroom Cast - sound files of cases from your casebook, with text of the cases and summaries.  (Note that the text of the cases may not be edited exactly as it appears in the casebook.)

Barbri Outlines for 1L Classes

Books on First Year Success

Sample Exams

Sample University of Akron Law School Exams are available online through Brightspace. 

Log on to Brightspace using your UANet ID and Password and go to the "Law School Resources" course. Follow the link in the sidebar to "Law School Sample Exams." Exams are arranged alphabetically by course and are broken down by professor. The exams are available in PDF format and may be viewed online or printed for later use.

Lexis Study Aids via Akron Law Digital

Akron Law Digital provides 24/7 electronic access to numerous titles published by Lexis. Sign in with your University email address. Akron Law Digital contains many Lexis study aids, including the Questions and Answers and Understanding Series. These ebook study aids can be downloaded, highlighted and annotated by the user.

Help: Click on MY ACCOUNT and select help

Instructions for downloading, highlighting, etc.

See the Database Instruction page for how-tos.

Wolters Kluwer Study Aids Online

To access (both on and off campus):

  1. Go to http://ebooks.aspenlaw.com/librarycard/login
  2. Select your institution (University of Akron School of Law).
  3. Your library card number is the same as your UANet ID.  If you have a UANet ID that does not include any numbers, you will have to add 123 after your UANet ID. Faculty and staff will be notified as to their library card number.

The W-K library contains popular study aids in ebook format, including Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, Glannon Guides, Emanuel CrunchTime, Academic Success, Casenote Legal Briefs, Inside Series, Friedman’s Series, Jumpstart Series.

Also includes video and audio study aids for certain subjects.

West Academic Study Aids Online

Access more than 470 study aids via West Academic Study Aids.  

The subscription includes the following titles for all first year courses: Gilbert Law Summaries, Sum & Substance Quick Review, Sum & Substance Exam Pro Series, Black Letter Outlines, Acing Series, Concise Hornbook Series, Law in a Nutshell Series, Concepts & Insights.

The subscription also includes the High Court Case Summaries Series, which include case briefs keyed to specific casebooks.

Also contains audio files for Law School Legends and Sum and Substance Audio Series! Listen offline using the mobile app.

NEW - interactive multiple choice quizzes on Exam Pro - Objective titles.

 

Selected Materials on Law School Success and Survival

For more, take a look at the Library Catalog.

UA Library Catalog

Contact Us

Office of Academic Success Programs

The Office of Academic Success is locate in Room 217 of the Law School.

CALI

LexisNexis Courtroom Cast