Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For more information:
How the Federal Courts Work
Description of the federal court system.
Federal Judicial Branch
Links to all federal courts, special courts and court support agencies.
Federal Judicial Center
The education and research agency for the federal courts.
Pronouncing Dictionary of the Supreme Court of the United States
The purpose of the Pronouncing Dictionary of United States Supreme Court cases is to help conscientious lawyers, judges, teachers, students, and journalists correctly pronounce often-perplexing case names. The list of case names can be sorted alphabetically or by case citation.
U.S. Sentencing Commission
Federal Sentencing Guidelines Manual.
Judicial Conference of the U.S.
Fundamental purpose is to make policy with regard to the administration of the U.S. courts.
Famous Trials- by Douglas O. Linder (UMKC)
Famous Trials is also created by Professor Doug Linder. “The Web's most visited and most comprehensive collection of essays, images, maps, primary documents, links, and other materials pertaining to over fifty of the most famous trials of all time, from Socrates to Simpson.”
United States Supreme Court Opinions
Court opinions are written statements explaining the decision in a case (or the holding) and include statement of facts, points of law, analysis, and reasoning of how the court made its decision. Merits Briefs are the written arguments laying out the legal points and authorities on which the argument is based. Oral Arguments are lawyer’s legal arguments given before the justices to convince the court to find in favor of their client.
Also see the Supreme Court Records and Briefs page which also has links to current awareness services, oral arguments, statistics and more.
U.S. Supreme Court opinions
Search U.S. Supreme Court opinions. The U.S. Supreme Court opinions are available online starting with volume 502, 1991. These are the U.S. Reports in pdf format.
U.S. Reports - 1791-2004
via Library of Congress. U.S. Reports in pdf format.
U.S. Supreme Court opinions starting with volume 1, 1759.
The Supreme Court Database
If you want to analyze all the cases or a grouping of cases, use the database search to create lists of cases by legal issue, or by Court Era, by vote detail by each Justice, vote direction (liberal or conservative), legal precedent changes, etc. Share links to searches, lists and tables. “In addition to providing a web-based platform to search and analyze the Supreme Court Database, this site also provides downloadable files that researchers can use with their own statistical software.”
Supreme Court (LII- Cornell)
The Legal Information Institute has all decisions since 1990, and over 600 of the Court's most important historic decisions stretching back to 1793.
U.S. Courts of Appeals- Opinions (Findlaw.com)
Search or browse by topic. Coverage varies by jurisdiction, for instance the 6th Circuit has full text cases back to Jan. 1995. Findlaw also has a database of opinion summaries from September 2000. Findlaw.com is owned by Thomson Reuters.
United States Courts Opinions
United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a project between the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts.
U.S. Court of Appeals (LII)
Legal Information Institute, Cornell University Law School. Search all Circuit Courts or select a specific circuit.
Click on Case Law under the search box and then pick the the court you wish to search.
To find federal appellate jurisdictions use this map. The website links to individual court web pages where you can find information about the judges, online forms, and sometimes copies of court documents for notable cases or cases of high media interest.
Free Fastcase App
For iPhone or Android. Ohio reported cases: Ohio Supreme Court (from 1885), Ohio Court of Appeals (from 1926), unreported cases from 2004 on.
A databases of cases, statutes and other legal sources - including both federal and all 50 states. Free to law students, faculty and staff.
A growing database of cases that offers real time updates for new cases in many jurisdictions. Recordings of oral arguments too. See Coverage
Unique ability to narrow by motion type. Unique results visualization.
All reported cases for all fifty states. Complete unreported coverage starting in 2015. Includes the earliest cases from federal circuit and district courts. See coverage
Three day free trial. Includes Artificial Intelligence, where you can upload a brief and get more cases on point. Your results can be focused by inputting additional keywords.
GovInfo - United States Court Opinions
Opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts
CaseLaw Access Project
CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States, through June 2018. A search function is available, but is developiing..
Cameras in Courts
Some federal trial courts are taking part in the federal Judiciary's digital video pilot. Watch videos of federal court cases. Ohio federal courts are participating in the pilot.
See Bluebook Rule 18.2.1(a)(i) for information on authenticated documents.
Authentication of government digital documents
Instructions on how to validate the certificate on the electronic document.
Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act (UELMA)
The Uniform Electronic Legal Material Act (UELMA) provides states with an outcomes-based approach to the authentication and preservation of electronic legal material. The goals of the authentication and preservation program outlined in the Act are to enable end-users to verify the trustworthiness of the legal material they are using and to provide a framework for states to preserve legal material in perpetuity in a manner that allows for permanent access.
The Act requires that official electronic legal material be:
1. Authenticated, by providing a method to determine that it is unaltered;
2. Preserved, either in electronic or print form; and
3. Accessible, for use by the public on a permanent basis.
Unpublished Federal Court Opinions
* Federal courts retain the power to decide whether an unpublished opinion is binding or persuasive (on that court)
* Fed.R.App.P. 32.1 – Appellate courts may not restrict citing federal unpublished judicial opinions issued after 1-1-2007.
* Local appellate rules state whether unpublished opinions before 1-1-2007 can be cited. See 18 Moore's Federal Practice, Civil 134.04.