Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mobile Apps for Law Students and Beyond: Legal Research

MOBILE RESEARCH APPS

View this library guide on any mobile device!  This web page will be optimized for your mobile device.

 There are more law related apps available than what is listed below.  These apps are meant for law professionals or law students. 

These apps are available for two or more devices, including Apple, Android, and Windows devices. 
Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding different versions so check those sites often.     

Click on the link appropriate to your device in the DESCRIPTION column to download or connect to the site. 

Link Cost Description

Free- cases & statutes

Subscription for everything else.

Fastcase’s libraries include primary law from all 50 states, as well as deep federal coverage going back to to the first volumes. The Fastcase collection includes cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.  Fastcase’s libraries are searchable by keyword (or “Boolean” search), natural language search, or citation lookup.  Must register to use. A few states, like Ohio, are not included due to copyright restrictions.  Fastcase website.

iTunes
Google Play

Free to download. 

Must have a Westlaw Edge
account to use.

 Westlaw Edge Mobile
All the same Westlaw Edge features, customized for mobile devices.  Run searches with WestSearch and filter the results; add notes and highlighting to documents; access research history, favorites, and frequently used content; browse content, and organize folders. Westlaw Edge mobile site.

iTunes
Google Play

Free to download.

Must have Westlaw Edge account to use

Thomson Reuters ProView eBooks

Thomson Reuters ProView eBooks allows you to research and work within your eBooks in the same way you do within your books while giving you the portability, convenience, and efficiency of a digital format.

iTunes
Google Play

Free. Need to access through School's IP Authentication.

HeinOnline App

Available in Apple or the Google Play Store.
 

 

These apps are exclusively for Apple/iOS devices like the iPad and iPhone and are available through iTunes.
Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding Apple versions so check those sites often.

Click on the icon in the LINK column to download or connect to the site. 

Link  Cost Description
$54.99 Black's Law Dictionary The 9th Edition is the most comprehensive law dictionary ever published. It contains more than 45,000 terms, alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms, and West key numbers.  iTunes
Image result for nolo plain english law dictionary Free Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary- Nolo now offers students, accountants, paralegals, and everyone whose work or life is touched by the law, a complete and up-to-date legal dictionary—designed for the palm of your hand.
 Free LawStack comes preloaded with the following: US Constitution, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, Fedal Rules of Criminal Procedure.    Lawstack.com website.er
Must have a Lexis account to use. Lexis Advance HD  - Search, view alerts, Shepardize, etc.
$.99

Pocket Justice from Oyez, Inc.
Over 650 abstracts, voting data, and audio-transcripts for cases decided from Oct. 1955 to current. By Justia.com. PocketJustice website.

Itunes.

Free U.S. Code  (By Shawn Bayern) The entire United States Code, loaded onto your iPhone or iPod Touch so that you can access all federal statutes without using the internet.  Search, browse, or use legal citations to find the sections you're looking for. Keep bookmarks, scroll through each chapter of the code as if it's a book, and email code sections to yourself or others.
 Free U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation (By Library of Congress) The U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation app is a mobile version of the "Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation", a comprehensive analytical legal treatise prepared by attorneys of the Congressional Research Service at the direction of the United States Senate.

Free

Constitution for iPhone & iPod Touch

Constitution for iPad

Includes biographical information for the signers of the original document.

Free The Law Guide Dictionary
Law Dictionary with ~7,500 legal definitions.  Contains no embedded advertising. Full text of the U.S. Constitution and important legal docs.  The Law Website

iTunes

  

These apps are exclusively for Android devices and are found in the Google Play Store.


Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding android versions so check those sites often.     

Click on the icon in the LINK column to download or connect to the site. 

Link Cost Description
Free to Ohio State Bar Members.
Casemaker
Log into Casemaker using your Ohio State Bar username and password.  After you login, click the Mobile Application link on the left side of the screen.  You must follow the onscreen instructions, including filling out the online form, to receive your reference code for Casemaker Mobile.  The code number will display on the browser screen and you will receive and email with the number.  You need this reference code number to login on the mobile app so save it.  Next, download the app. Login with your email address and your new reference code number.
Free

Constitution

United States Constitution, Bill or Rights and Declaration of Independence in an indexed and easy to read format. Have these important historical documents at your fingertips.

 

$6.99

Ohio Revised Code

Ohio Revised Code for Android is the statutory law of the state of Ohio for Android phones. It consists of all 34 Titles of the law that have been codified into the code.

 

 

These apps are exclusively for Windows devices and are found in the Microsoft Store.
Some of the apps under the other tabs are adding Windows versions so check those sites often.     

 Click on the icon in the LINK column to download or connect to the site. 

Link Cost Description
Free

LAW Dictionary PRO

More than 14000entries.
Easy to use interface.
Auto complete Full text search.

Free

Law Dictionary

Law Dictionary can be used as a trusted source of legal definitions and terms taken from various sources. The primary purpose of this app is to assist budding lawyers in interpreting the various terms used in the subject of law. Law Dictionary has a very minimalistic design and aims at quick offline,on the go usage without any hassles.

Free

The United States Constitution

Read the constitution of the United States of America. View historical documents in ultra-high quality.

Contact Us