Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents Collection: Home

Coronavirus Restrictions: Open to the Public by Appointment Only

The public may use the University of Akron Law Library by appointment only. Appointments are available starting Monday, August 24, 2020.  

  • Appointments available: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • Exceptions: 
    • Monday, Sept. 7, 2018 (Labor Day).
    • Wednesday, Nov. 25 - Staffed hours end at 4:00 p.m. (Thanksgiving).
    • Thursday, Nov. 26 and Friday, Nov. 27, 2020 - (Thanksgiving).
  • To make an appointment to use the law library, Email the Library.

Access to online Government information is available through our Libguides, especially Ohio Law - Free Websites & Sources and United States Federal Law - Free Websites. Librarians are available for reference help.  

We apologize for the inconvenience, and we will provide full access again as soon as possible. In the meantime, you may contact the REGIONAL or NEARBY SELECTIVES for help with Government information. Contact information for nearby libraries can be found in the Federal Depository Library Directory. Nearby depositories include the Akron-Summit County Public Library, Main Library.

University of Akron Law Library's Government Documents Collection

The University of Akron School of Law Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

The University of Akron School of Law Library is located in the Eleventh Congressional District and is one of nearly 1400 Federal Depository libraries in the United States. Documents are freely available to the public and there are no copyright restrictions for government publications. It is the policy of the Law Library to comply with law governing depository libraries (Title 44, Chapter 19 of the United States Code).

Federal documents in print, microform, and CD-ROM formats are shelved by SuDoc numbers, and can be accessed on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Law Library within the McDowell Building.

For microforms: Reader/printers with scanning capabilities for materials on microfiche and microfilm are on the 3rd floor where the microform collection in also located.

For electronic materials: All electronic resources are available through our online catalog. Two public computer stations are available near the circulation desk for internet access. After searching for a resource, click the hyperlink in the record for the resource and it should immediately open the electronic document on your computer. Please contact the Reference Desk or the Government Documents Librarian if you are unable to connect to a resource via PURL.

Reference assistance is available during the academic year from 10 a.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday and on Friday and during breaks from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Reference librarians help patrons identify and access documents and information available locally or elsewhere, if necessary.

Finding Government Documents, in a nutshell

  • Search GovInfo which contains official information from each branch of government. If it's not available online, look for it in the UA Libraries Catalog.
  • Often times information is published directly by agencies and departments.  USA.gov can connect you to them.
  • Search a catalog of government publications via the Monthly Catalog 
  • Many Ohio government entities have documents on their websites.  There are Cumulative Lists of documents deposited with the State Library of Ohio, going back to 2001.
  • For foreign government and IGO information:

Government Information on Grant Opportunities

Also see CANDID - has trainings and programs nearby for nonprofits, or available over the web. Training programs focus on grant writing, fundraising, management and more.

Accessing Government Documents

Accessing Government Documents

The Law Library government document collection is available during library hours.  Patrons are expected to follow the University of Akron Libraries' Acceptable Behavior Policy.

Some government documents are held in a storage facility at the NE Regional Depository in Rootstown, OH. To obtain these materials, click on "Request" from the item record in our online library catalog and enter your UANet ID and password. The Reference librarians can also request this material on your behalf.

Bierce Library at the University of Akron also serves as a Federal Depository Library and their collection is included in our library catalog. Contact Bierce Library with questions about materials in the Bierce Library collection.

Online Government Document Sources

Contact Us